iPhone 18 Pro, 18 Pro Max & iPhone Duo: Full Specs, Prices in Pakistan & PTA Tax (2026)

Apple held its “Surprise and Shine” event on 9 September 2026 and did something it has never done before: it launched a folding iPhone, and it did not launch a standard one. Three phones were announced — the iPhone 18 Pro, the iPhone 18 Pro Max and the iPhone Duo — and every one of them is a flagship. The affordable iPhone 18 has been pushed to spring 2027.
For buyers in Pakistan that single scheduling decision matters more than any camera upgrade. It means that for the next six months, the cheapest new-generation iPhone starts at $1,199 before a single rupee of duty is paid. Below is everything Apple confirmed, laid out in full spec tables, plus what these phones are realistically going to cost in Karachi, Lahore and Islamabad once PTA registration is added.
The 60-second version
- iPhone 18 Pro — A20 Pro, variable-aperture 48MP main camera, from $1,199. On sale 18 September.
- iPhone 18 Pro Max — up to 45 hours of video playback, from $1,299 (a $100 rise over last year).
- iPhone Duo — Apple’s first foldable. 7.6″ inner screen, 5.4″ outer, titanium, from $1,999. On sale 23 October.
- No standard iPhone 18 until early 2027. No iPhone Air 2 either.
- Pakistan is not in the first two launch waves. Expect grey-market units within days and official retail later.
- Expected PTA-approved pricing: roughly Rs 565,000 (18 Pro), Rs 612,000 (18 Pro Max) and Rs 940,000 (Duo).
What Apple actually announced
All three phones run the same silicon: A20 Pro, built on a 2-nanometre process. Apple says it carries a 6-core CPU with integrated Neural Accelerators, a 7-core GPU up to 40% faster than the A19 Pro, 50% more memory bandwidth, and a new Dual 16-core Neural Engine — 32 cores in total, for double the AI processing power of last year’s chip. That last number is the one Apple built the whole event around, because iOS 27 ships with Siri AI, a rebuilt assistant that has been delayed repeatedly since March.
The headline hardware feature on the Pro models is a variable aperture main camera — a first for any iPhone. Six laser-cut blades physically move to change the aperture between four settings, from ƒ/1.48 for low light up to ƒ/4 to keep a whole group in focus. Photographers have had this on proper cameras for a century; having it on a phone that fits in a pocket is genuinely new.
Apple also introduced Apple Reference Image, which cryptographically signs sensor data at the moment of capture so a photo’s authenticity can be proven later. In a market where forwarded, doctored images spread fast, this is worth understanding — though it is opt-in and only on the Pro models.
Full specifications: every variant compared
The table below is built entirely from Apple’s own press releases of 9 September 2026, with the iPhone 17 Pro Max included so you can see what a year of progress actually bought.
| Specification | iPhone 18 Pro | iPhone 18 Pro Max | iPhone Duo | iPhone 17 Pro Max (last year) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Form factor | Bar | Bar | Book-style foldable | Bar |
| Main display | Super Retina XDR | 6.9″ Super Retina XDR | 7.58″ inner (nano-texture) | 6.9″ Super Retina XDR |
| Second display | — | — | 5.36″ outer, 90% of 18 Pro area | — |
| Peak brightness | Not stated | Not stated | 3,000 nits outdoor | 3,000 nits outdoor |
| Refresh / Always On | ProMotion | ProMotion | ProMotion, Always On, both screens | ProMotion 120Hz |
| Chip | A20 Pro (2nm) | A20 Pro (2nm) | A20 Pro (2nm) | A19 Pro (3nm) |
| CPU / GPU | 6-core / 7-core | 6-core / 7-core | 6-core (fastest in any phone, per Apple) / 7-core | 6-core / 6-core |
| Neural Engine | Dual 16-core (32 total) | Dual 16-core (32 total) | Dual 16-core (32 total) | 16-core |
| Main camera | 48MP Fusion, variable aperture ƒ/1.48–ƒ/4 | 48MP Fusion, variable aperture ƒ/1.48–ƒ/4 | 48MP Fusion + optical 2x tele | 48MP Fusion, fixed ƒ/1.78 |
| Ultra Wide | 48MP Fusion | 48MP Fusion | 48MP Fusion | 48MP Fusion |
| Front camera | Center Stage | Center Stage | Center Stage + under-display FaceTime cam | 18MP Center Stage |
| Video | 4K Dolby Vision, 4K time-lapse, post-capture Cinematic to 60fps | Same as 18 Pro | 4K120 Dolby Vision | 4K120 Dolby Vision |
| Battery (video playback) | Up to 36 hrs | Up to 45 hrs | 31 hrs inner / 44 hrs outer / 24 hrs mixed | Up to 39 hrs |
| Fast charge to 50% | ~15 min wired / 30 min wireless | ~15 min wired; 5 min = ~7 hrs video | ~20 min wired / ~30 min wireless | ~20 min wired |
| Authentication | Face ID | Face ID | Touch ID in side button | Face ID |
| Dynamic Island | Smaller, 3 Live Activities | Smaller, 3 Live Activities | Vertical, on both screens | Standard |
| Build | Aluminium (85% recycled) | Aluminium (85% recycled) | Grade 5 titanium, Ceramic Shield 2 | Aluminium / Ceramic Shield 2 |
| Water resistance | IP68 | IP68 | IP68 (6m / 30 min) | IP68 |
| Connectivity | N1: Wi-Fi 7, BT 6, Thread; C2 modem | Same | Same | N1; C1X modem |
| SIM | eSIM-only in 12 markets | eSIM-only in 12 markets | eSIM-only worldwide | Physical + eSIM in Pakistan |
| Storage | 256GB / 512GB / 1TB / 2TB | 256GB / 512GB / 1TB / 2TB | 256GB / 512GB / 1TB / 2TB | 256GB / 512GB / 1TB / 2TB |
| Colours | Black, silver, glacier, burgundy | Black, silver, glacier, burgundy | Star white, night sky | Silver, cosmic orange, deep blue |
| Multitasking | Standard iOS 27 | Standard iOS 27 | Split View — two apps side by side | Standard |
| Stylus | — | — | Apple Pencil (USB-C), later in 2026 | — |
| OS at launch | iOS 27 | iOS 27 | iOS 27.1 | iOS 26 |
| Pre-order / on sale | 12 Sept / 18 Sept | 12 Sept / 18 Sept | 16 Oct / 23 Oct | Sept 2025 |
| US price from | $1,199 | $1,299 | $1,999 | $1,199 |
The eSIM problem nobody in Pakistan is talking about
Buried in the fine print is the single most important line for a Pakistani buyer. The iPhone Duo is eSIM-only worldwide — there is no SIM tray at all, in any market. The iPhone 18 Pro models keep a physical tray in most countries (including, presumably, Pakistan when it launches officially), and go eSIM-only in twelve named markets: Bahrain, Canada, Guam, Japan, Kuwait, Mexico, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the UAE, the US and the US Virgin Islands.
Read that list again. The UAE, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Kuwait, Oman and Bahrain — six of the most common sources of imported phones into Pakistan — are all eSIM-only. A phone carried back from Dubai or Riyadh will have no SIM slot. All major Pakistani networks now support eSIM, but confirm your operator can provision one on your tariff before you hand over eight lakh rupees, and remember that eSIM transfers between phones are handled by the carrier, not by you.
Official prices: what Apple confirmed
Apple published only the starting price for each model. The higher storage tiers below are marked as estimates, based on Apple’s consistent $200-per-tier pattern on Pro iPhones over the last three generations.
| Model | 256GB | 512GB | 1TB | 2TB |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| iPhone 18 Pro | $1,199 confirmed | ~$1,399 est. | ~$1,599 est. | ~$1,999 est. |
| iPhone 18 Pro Max | $1,299 confirmed | ~$1,499 est. | ~$1,699 est. | ~$2,099 est. |
| iPhone Duo | $1,999 confirmed | ~$2,199 est. | ~$2,399 est. | ~$2,799 est. |
Two things stand out. The iPhone 18 Pro Max is $100 more expensive than the 17 Pro Max was — Apple raised the price of its most popular flagship. And the Pro line gets a 2TB option for the first time, which at the top end pushes an iPhone past the $2,000 mark without it even being the foldable.
Expected prices in Pakistan
Apple has no retail presence of its own in Pakistan, and Pakistan is not named in either launch wave — not the 65+ countries getting the Pro models on 18 September, nor the 20 more on 25 September. Based on the iPhone 17 cycle, expect grey-market units in Hafeez Centre and Saddar within a week or two of the US launch, and officially imported PTA-approved stock from authorised distributors several weeks later.
How these estimates are calculated
Rather than converting dollars at the interbank rate — which would badly understate the real price — we worked backwards from a phone whose Pakistani price is already known. The iPhone 17 Pro Max launched at $1,199 in the US and settled at Rs 564,999 PTA-approved in Pakistan. That is an effective rate of about Rs 471 per dollar, versus an interbank rate of roughly Rs 279. The 69% gap is customs duty, regulatory duty, 25% sales tax on devices above $500, withholding tax, distributor margin and retailer margin, all stacked.
Expected PTA-approved price in Pakistan, 256GB
Estimates for the iPhone 18 line, derived from an effective Rs 471/$ rate. The iPhone 17 Pro Max figure is a real, verified price shown for calibration.
| Model & storage | US price | Expected Pakistan price (PTA-approved) |
|---|---|---|
| iPhone 18 Pro 256GB | $1,199 | Rs 560,000 – 575,000 |
| iPhone 18 Pro 512GB | ~$1,399 | Rs 645,000 – 660,000 |
| iPhone 18 Pro 1TB | ~$1,599 | Rs 728,000 – 745,000 |
| iPhone 18 Pro 2TB | ~$1,999 | Rs 895,000 – 915,000 |
| iPhone 18 Pro Max 256GB | $1,299 | Rs 605,000 – 620,000 |
| iPhone 18 Pro Max 512GB | ~$1,499 | Rs 690,000 – 705,000 |
| iPhone 18 Pro Max 1TB | ~$1,699 | Rs 775,000 – 790,000 |
| iPhone 18 Pro Max 2TB | ~$2,099 | Rs 940,000 – 960,000 |
| iPhone Duo 256GB | $1,999 | Rs 930,000 – 955,000 |
| iPhone Duo 512GB | ~$2,199 | Rs 1,015,000 – 1,040,000 |
| iPhone Duo 1TB | ~$2,399 | Rs 1,100,000 – 1,125,000 |
| iPhone Duo 2TB | ~$2,799 | Rs 1,265,000 – 1,295,000 |
PTA tax per device: what registration will cost
If you import a phone yourself — carried back from Dubai, sent by a relative, or bought non-PTA locally — you must register it with PTA through the DIRBS system or it stops working on Pakistani networks after 60 days. Wi-Fi keeps working; calls, SMS and mobile data do not.
How PTA tax actually works
- Storage does not matter. PTA tax is identical for the 256GB and the 2TB version of the same model, because FBR assigns one customs value per model, not per variant.
- Passport registration is cheaper than CNIC — typically by Rs 20,000–30,000 — but it requires FIA-verified travel records showing you arrived recently. It is for travellers and overseas Pakistanis, not a loophole for everyone.
- CNIC holders can register up to five devices per calendar year across all methods combined.
- Overseas visitors get 120 days free per visit via temporary registration on the DIRBS portal.
- Devices valued above $500 attract 25% sales tax, which is why every phone on this page sits in the most expensive duty band.
PTA registration tax on Apple’s top model, by generation
Rupees, CNIC registration
Pro MaxiPhone 16
Pro MaxiPhone 17
Pro MaxiPhone 18
Pro Max (est)
The 15, 16 and 17 figures come from published FBR-based calculators. The iPhone 18 Pro Max figure is an estimate — FBR has not yet issued a valuation ruling.
FBR has not yet published a valuation ruling for the iPhone 18 series or the iPhone Duo, so exact figures do not exist yet — anyone quoting you a precise PTA tax for an iPhone 18 Pro today is guessing. What we can do is anchor on the current, published figures for the iPhone 17 Pro Max (Rs 225,450 CNIC / Rs 204,955 passport) and scale by each new model’s dollar value.
| Device | Estimated PTA tax — CNIC | Estimated PTA tax — Passport | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| iPhone 18 Pro | Rs 225,000 – 235,000 | Rs 205,000 – 214,000 | Higher — same $1,199 band as the 17 Pro Max |
| iPhone 18 Pro Max | Rs 235,000 – 248,000 | Rs 213,000 – 225,000 | Moderate — $100 above the known anchor |
| iPhone Duo | Rs 290,000 – 330,000 | Rs 265,000 – 300,000 | Lower — no comparable foldable ruling exists |
| iPhone 17 Pro Max (reference) | Rs 225,450 — published | Rs 204,955 — published | Actual |
Always confirm the real number before paying. Dial *#06# to get your IMEI, then check it at dirbs.pta.gov.pk or SMS it to 8484. The portal generates a PSID with the exact amount, calculated at that day’s exchange rate.
Official PTA-approved, or import and register? The maths
This is the question every Pakistani iPhone buyer actually faces, and the answer has flipped in the last two years. When PTA tax was low, importing was obviously cheaper. Now that registration alone can exceed Rs 225,000, the official route often wins.
Two ways to own an iPhone 18 Pro in Pakistan (256GB)
Dark navy / slate = the device. Red = PTA tax on CNIC. Gold = PTA tax at the passport rate.
bought locallyImported non-PTA
+ CNIC registrationImported non-PTA
+ passport rate
Estimates. The grey-market figure assumes a launch-window premium, which usually eases within three months.
The pattern from the iPhone 17 generation was clear: for higher storage tiers, official PTA-approved stock ended up cheaper than buying non-PTA and self-registering — by around Rs 44,000 on the 1TB model. The gap only favoured importing on the base 256GB model, and only once grey prices had settled a few months after launch.
When each route makes sense
- Buy PTA-approved if you want local warranty, a phone you can resell easily, and no paperwork — especially for 512GB and above.
- Import and self-register if you are travelling anyway and qualify for the passport rate, or if you are buying three or more months after launch when grey prices have fallen.
- Import without registering only if you genuinely will use the phone on Wi-Fi alone, or you are a visitor staying under 120 days.
- Never register on someone else’s CNIC. The registration can be revoked and you lose both the tax and the phone’s network access.
Is the iPhone Duo worth Rs 9.4 lakh in Pakistan?
The Duo is the most interesting phone Apple has made in years and the hardest to justify here. At an expected Rs 930,000–955,000 for the base model it costs about as much as a used Suzuki Alto, and roughly 1.7 times an iPhone 18 Pro. Foldables have never sold in volume in Pakistan; Samsung’s Z Fold line has remained a niche, status-purchase device rather than a mainstream choice.
What you get for the premium is real, though. A 7.58″ inner display — 50% larger than the 18 Pro Max — with a nano-texture matte finish that Apple says minimises both glare and crease visibility. Split View, which lets two apps run side by side on an iPhone for the first time. Grade 5 titanium with a hinge built from over 100 components. Two batteries working as one, for 24 hours of mixed use. And camera tricks only a folding phone can do: shooting selfies on the 48MP rear camera while previewing on the outer screen, and Smart Take, which uses on-device AI to fire the shutter automatically when everyone is posing.
For a small-business owner who works from their phone all day — replying to buyers, checking listings, managing WhatsApp catalogues — a tablet-sized screen that fits in a pocket has a practical argument behind it. For everyone else, the iPhone 18 Pro at Rs 565,000 is the better-value flagship, and the phone most people will actually buy.
Video playback, hours (Apple’s own figures)
Higher is better. eSIM models.
ProiPhone 18
Pro MaxiPhone Duo
inner screeniPhone Duo
outer screeniPhone 17
Pro Max
Battery is where this generation improved most: the 18 Pro Max claims 45 hours, the best Apple has ever shipped.
What this launch means for Pakistan’s used-phone market
Every September, the arrival of new iPhones resets the second-hand market here. Three things are worth watching this year, and the split launch makes them sharper than usual.
Older flagships get cheaper, fast. As soon as the 18 Pro lands, iPhone 16 Pro and 17 Pro prices soften as upgraders sell. If you have been waiting to buy a used iPhone, the four to eight weeks after launch is historically the best window — and this year it applies to phones that are still genuinely current, because the A19 Pro is only one generation behind.
The missing iPhone 18 pushes buyers downmarket. With no standard model until spring 2027, anyone who wanted a new iPhone at a sensible price has two options: buy an iPhone 17 (now effectively the “affordable” new iPhone) or buy used. Expect unusually strong demand for clean, PTA-approved iPhone 16 and 17 units through the rest of 2026.
Verify before you pay. Launch season is also scam season. Non-PTA units get advertised as “PTA approved”, and “JV” (Japanese variant) models get sold without disclosure — some have a permanent shutter sound and different band support. Ask for the IMEI before you pay, check it yourself on dirbs.pta.gov.pk, and confirm battery health in Settings rather than trusting a screenshot.
Buying or selling an iPhone in Pakistan?
Thousands of mobile listings from real sellers across Karachi, Lahore, Islamabad and beyond — free to browse, free to post.
Frequently asked questions
When will the iPhone 18 Pro be available in Pakistan?
Apple did not include Pakistan in either announced launch wave (18 or 25 September 2026). Based on previous years, grey-market units usually appear within one to two weeks of the US launch, with officially imported PTA-approved stock following several weeks later.
Why is there no regular iPhone 18?
Apple split its release schedule for the first time. The standard iPhone 18 — along with the iPhone 18e and possibly an iPhone Air 2 — is expected in early 2027 instead of September 2026. Only the two Pro models and the Duo launched this autumn.
How much is PTA tax on the iPhone 18 Pro?
FBR has not issued a valuation ruling for the iPhone 18 series yet, so no exact figure exists. Based on the published iPhone 17 Pro Max rate (Rs 225,450 CNIC), expect roughly Rs 225,000–235,000 on CNIC and Rs 205,000–214,000 on passport. Confirm the real amount by generating a PSID at dirbs.pta.gov.pk.
Does PTA tax change with storage size?
No. The tax is the same for every storage variant of a given model, because FBR assigns a single customs value per model.
Will the iPhone Duo work in Pakistan without a SIM tray?
Yes, provided your network supports eSIM — all the major Pakistani operators now do. The Duo is eSIM-only in every market worldwide, so confirm eSIM provisioning with your operator before buying, and note that moving your number to another phone later has to go through the carrier.
Which iPhone 18 model is the best value in Pakistan?
The iPhone 18 Pro 256GB at an expected Rs 560,000–575,000. It shares the same A20 Pro chip, the same variable-aperture camera and the same Apple Intelligence features as the Pro Max, for roughly Rs 45,000 less. The Pro Max is worth the difference only if battery life is your single biggest priority.
Should I buy now or wait?
If you need a phone now, an iPhone 17 Pro or a clean used 16 Pro offers far better value per rupee. If you want the new camera and Siri AI, waiting eight to twelve weeks after the Pakistani launch typically saves 15–20% as grey-market scarcity premiums fade.
Sources and method
Device specifications, features, US pricing and launch dates: Apple Newsroom press releases “Apple debuts iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone 18 Pro Max” and “Apple unveils iPhone Duo”, both 9 September 2026 (apple.com/newsroom).
Release-schedule split: reporting from MacRumors, 9to5Mac and PhoneArena, August–September 2026.
PTA and FBR figures: published FBR Valuation Rulings 1999/2025 and 2035/2026 as reflected in Pakistani PTA tax calculators, plus retail pricing from Mega.pk and WhatMobile, mid-2026.
Pakistan price estimates: derived by the Adjungle.pk editorial team from the iPhone 17 Pro Max’s verified PTA-approved price of Rs 564,999 against its $1,199 US list price, giving an effective rate of ~Rs 471/$ that already includes duty, sales tax and trade margins. Storage-tier US prices above the confirmed base are estimated from Apple’s consistent $200-per-tier pattern. All estimates are clearly labelled; figures move with the rupee and with FBR notifications.
Published 12 September 2026. We will update this article when Apple confirms Pakistani availability and when FBR publishes valuation rulings for the iPhone 18 series.

Leave your comment